Minutes of the meeting of the Junior College Organization Committee held at Harrisons Cafe on November 16, 1965.

County Superintendents of Schools, Eleanore Staab, Ruby Lowe, Josephine Busby, Peggy Rowland and Connie Morgan met with Stan Leftwich, John Holden and Dr. Leland Luchsinger at 4:30 PM to canvass the votes and consider date and publication and legal factors involved in forthcoming Junior College Committee election.

Dinner meeting was called at 6:30 PM with the business session commencing at 7:30PM. The meeting was called to order by Co-Chairman Don Stephens who had members present introduce themselves and spouses. Following this introduction Co-Chairman David Delaplane heard the report from Eagle County representatives concerning the proposed candidate for the Junior College Committee. Mr. Norv Morgan of Eagle nominated Harold Koonce also of Eagle. In response to question by chairman Delaplane, Mr. Koonce indicated his willingness to run for election and serve on the committee if elected.

After recognition of various members of the Organization Committee, representatives from Lake and Summit Counties indicated that they were prepared to present their nominations. Mrs. Howard Clark of Breckenridge placed the name of Jack Healy, also from Breckenridge, in nomination from Summit County. Mr. Don Stephens, after stating that although he had been requested by the Lake County Committee to run, and had intended to do so, learned this week of his transfer to Golden, Colo., making it impossible for him to be a candidate. The Lake County Committee, through chairman Don Stephens, placed the name of Pat Harvey of Leadville before the committee in nomination. Mr. Harold Ballard was appointed to fill out Don Stephens position as Co-Chairman.

Co-Chairman Delaplane then stated that there would be a 10 minute adjournment to enable Garfield and Pitkin County delegates to caucus inasmuch as all of the representatives of these counties had been unable to meet as a group prior to this session.

Meeting re-adjourned at 8:40 PM. Peggy Rowland, Pitkin County Chairwoman, stated that their delegation wished to place two names in nomination for endorsement by the committee: Mrs. Betsy Rosolack and Mr. David Barbee, both of Aspen. Walker Coleman, Carfield County Chairman stated that their committee chose to submit the name of David Delaplane of Glenwood Springs, who indicated that, although he would not campaign, would serve if elected.

Co-Chairman Delaplane then asked for other nominations from the floor. There were none. Jack East of Leadville moved that this slate be presented as the endorsement of the Organization Committee. The motion was seconded by Waker Coleman of Glenwood Springs. The motion carried unanimously.

A proposal that the committee make very clear to the news media that other candidates who care to run for this governing committee are encouraged to do so, and may make application of intent to run with their respective County Superintendents of Schools and by filing a petition signed by 50 voters, - a proposal to this effect was brought to the floor and approved by acclaimation.

Josephine Bushy, County Superintendent Coordinator then was requested to report on legalities of the election for Junior College Committee members. The Superintendents had agreed to set December 28th as the election date, the earliest date possible to meet the four weeks' notification requirements. Chairman Delaplane asked for an expression from the full committee on this report. The date was approved by a unanimous show of hands.

John Holden, Attorney for the Colorado Department of Education, stated that Colorado law required that candidates for the first governing Committee election must run for terms varying in length. There must be five members on the Committee elected as follows: 2 for 6 years, 2 for 4 years, and 1 for 2 years. Thereafter all Committee members will be elected for 6 year periods. He stated that the district could be set up on a Director District basis with each of the five major counties constituting a Director District (the small portion of Routt to be included with the Eagle District). This, Mr. Holden stated, would ensure one Committee member from each county. All voters in the entire district will vote for one member from each Director District (county).

Mrs. Busby stated that the County Superintendents would want to know the will of the Organization Committee in this matter. She also stated that they would kike to have the Organization Committee determine for them which candidates should run for which term lengths. The committee approved by unanimous acclaimation that the election be handled on the Director District basis outlined by Mr. Holden.

A motion was made by Pat Harvey, seconded by John Boulton, that selection of numbers from a hat by the County Superintendents would be the most equitable. This was approved by a unanimous vote. The following was the result of this selection: Dist. 1 -Summit 4 years, Dist. 2 - Lake -6 years, Dist. 3 - Eagle-Routt-4 years, Dist.4-Pitkin-6 years, Dist. 5- Garfield-2 years. County Superintendents were advised to set up the election accordingly.

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 PM.